Metuchen Human Relations Commission

Tuesday, May 14th 2019 **AGENDA**

Call Meeting to order at 7:30 PM sharp: Hazel-Anne Johnson & Nicole Blankiet

Welcome to any members of the public/public comment: Hazel-Anne Johnson & Nicole Blankiet

Review & Approval of April minutes: Asela Mourao

Report from the Council Liaison: Sheri-Rose Rubin

Comments sent from the public: Hazel-Anne Johnson

Old Business and Next Steps:

• BOE Updates: Ben Small

• 2019 Diversity & Inclusion Training Workshop update.

Hazel-Anne: Schedule, Training, Survey

Nicole Update: D&I Needs assessment survey distribution to BBB / Le Tip

Richard Update: Sticker Design

- HRC Website update: Google form, photos, resources, Instagram, borough website (share our events e.g., World Day & provide feedback to borough administrator). Twitter?
- Book Club/Speaker Series update Leah
 - Next meeting August 7th, 2019?
 - Ethel Brooks, Rutgers Professor & Metuchen resident to speak at November 13th book club event.
- Metuchen World Day Update HRC Attendees / Schedule, Microphone, Food, Activities: Reena
- Ordinance to add additional Commission members Update: Sheri-Rose
- Grant Speaker Discussion

New Business

- Yoga at the Plaza on June 23rd celebration to honor International Yoga Day (UN). Organizers would like HRC to write something up about its significance, or yoga on the HR/UN perspective: Asela
- Country Fair (October) Lead & Sub committee
 Winter Parade (November) Lead & Sub committee
- Human Rights Day (December) including Grant Speaker Lead & Sub committee
- Father Zelley Lead (January 2020) Update New Hope Baptist MLK event in Metuchen for MLK Day.

Upcoming Meeting/Important Dates

- Metuchen World Day May 19th, 2019
- Interfaith Ramadan Dinner May 22nd, 2019
- Yoga at the Plaza June 23rd, 2019
- Book Club Speaker Series August 7th and November 13th,2019

Current Commission Members

 Nicole Blankiet 	2. Sophie Falkenstein	3. Richard Green, III
4. Leah Jiorle	5. Hazel-Anne Johnson	6. Kevin McPeek
7. Asela Mourao	8. Ozair Omarzai	9. Sheri-Rose Rubin
10. Ben Small	11. Jordan Valiquette	12. Reena Wade
13. Ed Zelley	14. *Intern: Rob Facchini	