Human Relations Commission

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Meeting Minutes (Reorganization and Regular Meeting)

Reorganization Meeting Called to order at 7:30 PM sharp: Leah Jiorle

Attendees: Nicole Blankiet, Sophie Falkenstein, Richard Green, III, Leah Jiorle, Hazel-Anne Johnson, Linda Koskoski, Kevin McPeek, Asela Mourao, Aiden Nelson, Ozair Omarzai, Ben Small and Reena Wade

<u>Reappointment of Terms</u> There will be staggering of terms for each appointee. The new terms will be determined and provided at or by the next meeting on, February 6, 2018.

<u>Elections</u> Commission members re-approved positions as is, due to recent elections. Leah Jiorle will remain as Chair, Hazel-Anne Johnson is Vice-Chair and Reena Wade is Secretary.

2018 Meeting Dates

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Tuesday August 7, 2018

Tuesday September 4, 2018

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Sub-committees may be formed and meet as necessary.

Reorganization Meeting Adjourned.

Regular Meeting Called to order: Leah Jiorle

Welcome to any members of the public: Leah Jiorle welcomed Cate Mollison, member of the public.

Review & Approval of <u>December</u> **minutes:** December 2017 Minutes approved¹.

Old Business

<u>Genesis Update</u> The Genesis database fields in question are automatically programmed in the software. Mr. Small confirmed the Metuchen School board does not collect immigration or citizenship status, nor are parents asked questions about immigration or citizenship status at registration. Mr. McPeek advised that the Guidance and School Counseling department is looking into whether these fields can be removed and the timeline removing the fields, if possible. Cate Mollison spoke in favor of the fields being removed.

¹ Ben Small abstained from the vote on the approval of minutes as he was not present at the December meeting.

Mission Statement Ms. Jiorle drafted mission statement which will be circulated for review.

<u>Metuchen HRC By-laws</u> A sub-committee formed to work on the by-laws including Councilperson Koskoski, Ms. Johnson, Ms. Jiorle and Ms. Wade. Ms. Morou drafted a template for the by-laws.

<u>Sub-committees</u> Discussion of sub-committee, scope and goals occurred. Currently, the Social Media (Ms. Johnson, Ms. Jiorle, Mr. Green and Ms. Blankiet) and By-laws sub-committees exist. After some discussion on how to structure committees, the Commission agreed on issue-based sub-committees (Women Issues, LGBTQ, Diversity/Race/Social Class/Poverty, Religion, Disabilities/Mental Health/Addictions). HRC members are to email Ms. Jiorle with their interests.

<u>Education Topics (LGBTO Policy/Consent Educational Workshops)</u> Discussion on current curriculum in high schools in regards to consent, teen dating violence, etc. took place. Mr. Small will look into the content of the current curriculum and where it is in the review cycle. A potential idea was discussed in regards to a middle and/or high school assembly for teen dating violence, as well as a need to educate parents (via materials/pamphlets).

New Business

<u>Upcoming Events</u> The Commission expressed interest in creating awareness around Holocaust Memorial Day, January 27th and possible support or promotion of January women empowerment events. In addition, it was decided to support New Hope Baptist's Martin Luther King, Jr. event. Other events for the year will be on a quarterly basis, unless current events call for more, ad hoc. Currently planned HRC events will include Black History Month event, World Day of Cultural Diversity for Dialogue and Development (May 21st) and a community event in October. The event in October may be held at the Metuchen Country fair (first weekend in October) and will aim to include many important awareness events in October and November. HRC will conclude the year with an International Human Rights Day event on December 10, 2018.

Upcoming Meeting February 6, 2018, 7:30 p.m. Borough Hall

Current Commission Members

- 1. Nicole Blankiet
- 2. Sophie Falkenstein
- 3. Richard Green, III.
- 4. Leah Jiorle
- 5. Hazel-Anne Johnson
- 6. Linda Koskoski
- 7. Kevin McPeek
- 8. Asela Mourao
- 9. Aiden Nelson,
- 10. Ozair Omarzai
- 11.Ben Small
- 12. Reena Wade
- 13. Ed Zelley